Click to go to Teen calendar Click to go to Chess page Click to go to Book Talk pageClick to go to a list of Cool Sites
Click to find out how to read away your fines!Click to go to out Careers pageClick to return to the Teen home page

Click here to write your own book review!

Date: 05/08/13
Title: The Water Castle
Author: Megan Frazer Blakemore
Name: Erin Lennon
Age: 11
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 6th grade
Review: Ephraim and his two siblings, Brynn and Price, move to Crystal Springs in Maine and live in a castle there. They explore their home, the Water Castle, with school friends and find out strange things about the castle they live in. There is a rumor that the Fountain of Youth is underneath the castle, and Ephraim believes it could cure his Dad who just had a stroke.

Date: 11/29/12
Title: Dearly, Departed
Author: Lia Habel
Name: Michelle Thomas
Age: Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 11 and 12
Review: I loved this book!
This book had a very new feel for me, especially since there seems to have been an explosion of vampire and werewolf novels lately. The story takes place in the future, year 2195, where the government has decided that after the last war, and release of a Zombie virus called "The Laz," it would be best if the remainder of population were to replicate a more civilized time. Victorian times to be exact.

This leads us to the main character Nora Dearly. She is a proper Victorian teenager who lives with an Aunt who is rapidly wasting the inheritance Nora's parents left her when they died.

After an argument with her Aunt one night, Nora decides to walk off her frustrations, when she is attacked by a group of zombies, only to be kidnapped by another pair of zombies who claim that they are a special unit of zombie soldiers, sent by her father. Confused and curious, Nora embarks on a journey, making new, slightly decomposing friends, trying to find the cure for "The Laz," and not to mention finding love with Bram, a zombie soldier along the way.

Witty, romantic and suspenseful, if you were to ask if I would recommend this book to others, to quote from the book, "As our ancestors would say, "duh."

Date: 11/29/12
Title: Zombie Queen of Newbury High
Author: Amanda Ashby
Name: Michelle Thomas
Age:
Rating: Pretty good, but not one of my favorites.
Grade level: 7 and 8
Review: As I said before, this book was pretty good, but not one of my favorites. The book is about a girl named Mia who is not very popular. So when she starts dating a popular football player named Rob, she can't believe it. But, when Rob's attention starts to drift towards a mean, popular cheerleader, Mia is determined to get him back. Mia's best friend, Candice, who always believes she has some kind of ailment, and is constantly taking vitamins, convinces Mia that she has the perfect way to get Rob back. By using a love potion.

Mia and Candice end up driving downtown to an old run down shack that Candice claims has the ingredients to make the love potion. However, when Mia mixes up one of the ingredients, she accidentally releases a Zombie virus throughout her whole school! Now Mia, Candice and their Zombie hunter classmate Chase, have to race against the clock to get the reversal spell before three days are up. Because if they can't contain and cure the virus in time, Chase's "Headquarters" will have to kill everyone in the school!

Date: 09/13/12
Title: Burning Blue
Author: Paul Griffin
Name: Juliette
Age: 14
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 9 and 10
Review: This girl,Nicole, got acid sprayed on her face by someone and they don't know who it is. And Jay is trying to help find who did this but a lot of people are starting to prevent him from trying to help. in the end the mother ends up being the one who did it to her. I thought this book was amazing and great detail.

Date: 11/11/12
Title: Cursed
Author: Jennifer Armentrout
Name: Michelle Thomas
Age:
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 11 and 12
Review: I loved this book! It's basically about Ember, a teen who was brought back to life by her 5 year old sister, after a car crash killed her and her father.

But, coming back to life came with an unwanted side effect. Ember can't touch anyone. Becuase if she ever had the misfortune to do so, her touch would, well, kill them. Instead, Ember wears flesh colored gloves so she can pretend that her touch isn't toxic.

The power over life and death that these two sisters have, has not gone unnoticed. Hayden, a "gifted," and his "family" have been "observing," Ember and her sister, and claim that Ember and her sister are gifted, like them. Ember isn't convinced. That and because,Hayden's father, seems to have sinister purposes for gathering gifted children into his home.

But, when Ember, who accidentally kills someone, she has no choice but to leave and is taken away along with her sister and her brain damamged mother who believes Ember is dead,to a mansion with a new "family" of gifted who believe Ember is cursed, and say quite bluntly that they do not want her there. It will take all the help of Hayden, and a little soul searching, along with a few near death experiences, to convince Ember that she is not cursed. She is gifted.

Date: 11/20/12
Title: Who Am I Without Him ?
Author: Sharon.G.Flake Name:
Age:
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level:
Review: short stories about girls and the boys in their lives

Date: 02/15/10
Title: Forbidden Sea
Author: Sheila A. Nielson
Name: Alex
Age: 15
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 9 and 10
Review: This book gave a different perspective of mermaids and i loved this book. The book was well written and drew you in from the first page. I finished the book in two days, it was that fast a read. I absolutely loved everything about the book! The characters were fascinating, the plot was unexpected, and the story line was very original. The only thing is that having nice mermaids happened first in the little mermaid, the Disney movie. Other than that i think everyone should read this book. It's original because right now everyone is obsessing over vampires and this brings an unexpected mythical creature into play. I only have one question; will the author be making a series about this one book? And will she write more mermaid books? I really hope the answer to both of these questions is a YES!

Date: 02/08/10
Title: Fever Crumb
Author: Philip Reeve
Name: Alex
Age: 15
Rating: Awful! They shouldn't publish books this bad!
Grade level: 7 and 8
Review: I thought the whole book was awful! The plot was boring, the characters were horrible and didn't attract you, and even the writing was slow and uneventful. I tried to keep reading and turning every page was torture. I truly dislike this book and i wouldn't recommend it to anyone!!! The main character is an emotionless, girl named Fever and she is an orphan. Big whop! The characters are very plain and they don't draw you into the story. All around, it was a horrible book. Not worth reading!

Date: 02/01/10
Title: Dogon
Author: Donnie Simmons
Name:
Age: 13
Rating: Pretty good, but not one of my favorites.
Grade level: 5th
Review: I thought the book was good because the plot was interesting. My favorite part of the story is when the Professor Russell Ross believes that he has discovered the first step in genetic evolution. When really Ross becomes immortal and he has to fight ancient forms of evil.He is put to the task of a hero.

Date: 01/21/10
Title: sliver is for secerts
Author: laruie storlaz
Name:
Age: 13
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 7 and 8
Review: best book ever and it is the third book in the series it is so tragic but if you like mystery romance books your love it i was so sad when jacob fell off the ship but to know y you have to read it

Date: 01/17/10
Title: Woods Runner
Author: Gary Paulsen
Name: *
Age: 13
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 7 and 8
Review: This book was very good. It was about a kid trying to resue his parents that were taken as prisoners durning the revolutionary war. It gets really sad at times but all in all it was a good book.

Date: 01/01/10
Title: The Capative
Author: Carrie Jones
Name:
Age: 12
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 7 and 8
Review: I love how the author made Zara so willing to save Nick from the pixies. Also, I love how they made it possible to be half pixie and be able to chose if they want to be pixie or not.

Date: 12/13/09
Title: The Agency
Author: Y.S. Lee
Name:
Age: 12
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 7 and 8
Review: I think that the author put a perfect twist between mordern times and the pasttime.

Date: 12/04/09
Title: fallen
Author: lauren kate
Name: yessenia rojas
Age: 12
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 7 and 8
Review: this book is about this girl who is alway by her self.

Date: 09/20/09
Title: The Day of the Pelican
Author: Katherine Paterson
Name: Brinda
Age: 12
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 7 and 8
Review: This book is about a girl named Meli and her family, who are living in Kosovo, an area where there are two types of people mostly , and they are having conflicts. Albanians are getting killed. One day Meli's older brother goes missing and when he returns, he tells about being beaten and thrown in jail, by the other group of people. Meli's family and her uncle's family are herded to a camp later on in the story where the decision is made that just Meli's family are going to go to America, once someone sponsors them. When they arrive in America they are all still learning how to speak english, although Meli's brother seemed to be pretty good at it. Her father has to work as a dishwasher though, and later her mother has to start working also. When 9/11 happens, their peers at school treat them oddly because they are Muslim, and Meli's brother gets beaten. In the end they try to work everything out and get accostomed to their new life.

I thought this was a really interesting book to read.

Date: 10/24/09
Title: Twilight
Author: Stephanie Meyer
Name: Jess
Age: 13
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: All
Review: I obviously had to pick Twilight,because, who doesn't love the books/movie?
Everything about this vampire/human romance novel is absolutely great! There is nothing bad about it.

Date: 09/05/09
Title: A Golden Web
Author: Barbara Quick
Name: R. Pinto
Age: 18
Rating: Pretty good, but not one of my favorites.
Grade level: 9 and 10
Review: The book is about Alessandra Giliani, 14th century anatomist. The majority of the book centers around her life at home and how she wants to be free and study like a man. It is only the last 100-150 pages that the reader sees her fulfill that dream. All-in-all it is an interesting story but the ending is lacking. If your interested in history and the women that break out of their roles, then this is the book for you.

Date: 09/02/09
Title: smile
Author: raita
Name: $@R4! [=
Age: 12
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 7 and 8
Review: OMGG!!! i loveddd the book!! it waz great!! omg!! i let my friend danni read it and she thought it waz good..i thought the book waz awesome! i loved it

Date: 07/01/09
Title: The After (changed to the Everafter)
Author: Amy Huntly
Name: Mollie DeMaine
Age: 12
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 7th tru 11th
Review: Madison Stanton is dead. She doesn't know how or when she died, or even where she is. All she knows is the fact that she's dead- and alone. Te only thing with her in the big dark space she's in are objects from her life. THese objects have the ability to bring her back to the time in her life where she lost them. But as she goes back in time to find these objects, Maddy realizes that not only does what she's doing change the future, but it also changes her living self from the klutzy and forgetful Maddy that everyone loved, to a totally different person; one that she may not want to be. I would confidently recommend this book for it's amazing language and brilliant story line.

Date: 06/29/09
Title: Bite Me!
Author: Melissa Fracis
Name: Mollie D.
Age: 12
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 9th thru 12th
Review: AJ Ashe wants to be as normal as a 17 year old vampire can be, and she thought she was doing a pretty good job at it. Then, her mom marries her boyfriend's dad, she finds out that might have changed the popular soccer star, Noah James into an evil discamphyr, and she uncovers some deadly secrets about her ancestors- the Serphentines. Now that AJ's life has been changed dramatically, can she survive the consequences of her own actions? I would definitely recommend Bite Me!, by Melissa Frances to any reader looking for a good scary story.

Date: 06/28/09
Title: Babylonne
Author: Catherine Jinks
Name:
Age: 15
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 11 and 12
Review: Set in feudal Euorpe, Babylonne is the story of a teenage girl who is stuggling with her family,her faith and herself. Her journey is fast paced, heart warming and funny.The best part was definitely the end battle when Babylonne has to make some very difficult internal choices.

Date: 06/16/09
Title: Lyonesse
Author: Sam Llewellyn
Name: Luz Guzco
Age:
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 9 and 10
Review: A world that was green and pleasant.The land now is burning with many monsters. The life now in that country is worse than before. The children wanted to have a better life.

Date: 06/16/09
Title: The Willoughbys
Author: Lois Lowry
Name: Lauryn Aviles
Age:
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 5th and 6th grade
Review: The best part was when the boy finds his dad. The book was about orphans and how they live with a nanny in 2 different places.

Date: 06/16/09
Title: Saint Iggy
Author: K. L. Going
Name: Aviva Frank
Age:
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 11 and 12
Review: Personally, I loved this book. Saint Iggy is a haunting expose depicting the struggle one has with one's own demons. Saint Iggy is a chillling and thought provoking novel that will shock the reader into awareness and leave you re-evaluating your own situation.

Date: 05/29/09
Title: Mudshark
Author: Gary Paulsen
Name: Ryan (from Ms. Kates' Class)
Age: 9
Rating: Pretty good, but not one of my favorites.
Grade level: 7 and 8
Review: Mudshark is about a kid named Lyle Williams. He's cool,fast and has a fantastic memory! But one day, Ms. Underdorf brought a psychic parrot. Now, the parrot's stealing the spotlight! I really liked the part when Mudshark figured out who took the missing erasers. What I didn't like was the part when the parrot was out-smarting Mudshark. I would really recommend this book to someone.

Date: 05/09/09
Title: Malice
Author: Chris Wooding
Name:
Age:
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: 7 and 8
Review: "Malice" is about a comic book that has a creepy legend attached to it. If you gathered the right items and chanted the right words, you would be magically whisked away into a world of horror and wonder. When Seth and Kady's friend Luke dissapears, Seth has to go in to save him. He befriends a mechanic and fights against bizarre creatures.

The best parts of the book when when Seth and his friend Justin climb the clock tower and go against mechanical terrors. The worst part was at the end of the book when the author left me hanging to find out if Seth would unhypnotize and what the trigger was. I just don't like cliffhangers you have to buy the sequel for.

Date: 04/27/09
Title: Shiver
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Name: Ellie Houghtaling
Age: 12
Rating: Great! I'd recommend this book to others.
Grade level: Any age above 13 years old
Review: As I fell into this book, I slowly realized the story it had to tell.
A girl; alone, with all the necessities except love & attention in her life.
A boy; with a curse he can't deny.

Two wolves, connected in a way they never knew they were. This brilliant love story is unlike any other. Not only is it about a fight to keep a relationship afoot, but the knowing of the girl's horrible past that he caused.

When Sam meets Grace for the first time, it's love at first sight. In the most horrible and vile way. When his pack begins to tear apart the young girl, he calmly sits next to her. When winter comes, what will Sam and his pack do, and how will Sam ever see Grace, as a human?

Date: 04/05/09
Title: The Winner Stands Alone
Author: Paulo Coelho
Name:
Age: 15
Rating: Reviewer gave this book a five out of five
Grade level: 9 and 10
Review: The Winner Stands Alone was a very real book. It revealed many of the problems in our society, while still being a book that pulls you in. This book was very well written and suspenseful in some aspects. The ending of this book was a bit unexpected and more real than happy.