Today's Hours: 9am - 9pm Menu
EngEsp

Jan 12, 2019 | Teen Services

Winter is here and there so are lots of opportunities to find a cozy place to curl up with a book. The
Teen Room is filled with new reads and there are lots more arriving every day. See the list below to find
new books that are arriving in the OPL Teen Room in February!

29 Dates, by Melissa de La Cruz
Jisu’s traditional South Korean parents are concerned by what they see as her lack of attention to her
schoolwork and her future. Working with Seoul’s premiere matchmaker to find the right boyfriend is
one step toward ensuring Jisu’s success, and going on the recommended dates is Jisu’s compromise to
please her parents while finding space to figure out her own dreams. But when she flubs a test then
skips out on a date to spend time with friends, her fed-up parents shock her by shipping her off to a
private school in San Francisco. Where she’ll have the opportunity to shine academically—and be set up
on more dates!

An Affair of Poisons, by Addie Thorley
After unwittingly helping her mother poison King Louis XIV, seventeen-year-old alchemist Mirabelle
Monvoisin is forced to see her mother’s Shadow Society in a horrifying new light: they’re not heroes of
the people, as they’ve always claimed to be.

Courting Darkness, by Robin Lafevers
First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set in the world of the best-selling His Fair Assassin
series is perfect for fans of THRONE OF GLASS, RED QUEEN, and GAME OF THRONES. Told in alternating
perspectives, when Sybella discovers there is another trained assassin from St. Mortain’s convent deep
undercover in the French court, she must use every skill in her arsenal to navigate the deadly royal
politics and find her sister in arms before her time—and that of the newly crowned queen—runs out.

On the Come Up, by Angie Thomas
This is the highly anticipated second novel by Angie Thomas, the author of the #1 New York
Times bestselling, award-winning The Hate U Give.
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. Or at least win her first battle.
As the daughter of an underground hip hop legend who died right before he hit big, Bri’s got massive
shoes to fill.
But it’s hard to get your come up when you’re labeled a hoodlum at school, and your fridge at home is
empty after your mom loses her job. So Bri pours her anger and frustration into her first song, which
goes viral…for all the wrong reasons.

Watch Us Rise, by Renee Watson and Ellen Hagan
Jasmine and Chelsea are best friends on a mission–they’re sick of the way women are treated even at
their progressive NYC high school, so they decide to start a Women's Rights Club. They post their work
online–poems, essays, videos of Chelsea performing her poetry, and Jasmine's response to the racial
microaggressions she experiences–and soon they go viral. Jasmine and Chelsea will risk everything for
their voices–and those of other young women–to be heard.
Also: